Food and Fluff

So far this month I’ve read a book about food and a trilogy of fluff.  The food book is called “More Home Cooking” and is by Laurie Colwin.  Laurie grew up in the same neighborhood as my mom, and used to hang out with around their house.  She briefly dated my Uncle Wallace, before deciding that they made better friends that romantic partners.  She died of a brain aneurysm in the night in 1992.  I miss her terribly, even though we never met.  Each time I finish one of her books, I call my mom, sign heavily and say, “I am so sad that Laurie Colwin is dead.  I want to talk to her about writing.”  I am grateful though that she left as much of herself behind as she did, because her personality and energy shine through every word she wrote.

The fluffy was The Circle Trilogy, Nora Roberts’ latest formulaic concoction.  Her books are built on the same structure.  The stories are predictable and the characters are too perfect to be real.  But she tells a good story and during those times when I need to give my brain a rest and be entertained, that is priceless.  I recommend them most during high-volume work times or when you need a fast escape from your current reality.

Leave a comment